Carting with Emma – The Finished Product

24 Aug

Attention all high maintenance dogs, Charlie has set the world back on its proper axis and put right all wrongs done to small fluffy dogs (even if he’s not that small). According to him, this is the way it should be, let me know if you agree!

So I finally finished Emma’s cart. It was really easy to polish off (since you last saw it) and I’m very happy with the outcome. Come Saturday, we’ll hit the greenmarket and Emma will carry my groceries!

If you’re interested in how I made it, I’ll give you a short description.

I bought a used jogging stroller off of Craigslist for $40. I stripped it down to just the wheels and protruding shafts. Next I labored for weeks and weeks to figure out how to get the rest of it right. After several trials and errors, today my bright idea hit me and I decided to just buy some PVC pipe for $6 and use $6 worth of hose clamps. So I attached my new longer shafts (the ones I was using previously were spare parts from the taken apart stroller, but were too short) and then I tied a donated milk cart on top. Luckily I already had the harness (Ruffwear’s harness), which is OK for light work like this. I may need to get her a fancier harness if I ask her to pull heavier weight. So I stuck the cat in the milk crate, and off we went! Altogether it cost me $52. A professionally made cart can cost upwards of $400!

Now you might say, yes, well it’s one thing to have a cart, but how do you get Emma to pull it?

Well, I’ve been working with her on pulling since this idea came to me, almost a month and a half ago. At first I just tied light rattly things to her harness for her to pull behind her, and treated her heavily every time she took a step. It was overkill – she didn’t care at all that there was something behind her. I slowly built it up until she was pulling relatively heavier objects for longer distances. Once I got the stroller and broke it down (but before I figured out how to really make it work) I had Emma pulling it around short distances to get used to the way it moved.

The trickiest part has been teaching her how to U-turn with these extra long shafts. She needs ample space to do it, but after a few practice turns she got it down and turns like a pro.

Emma gets tired easily so we don’t go for more than 10-15 minutes, and not unless it’s under 78 degrees outside. I’m hoping the extra exercise might give her a little more spunk in her life.

Tigress actually really enjoyed the ride. She was nervous at first and mewed a little bit, but once we got into the rhythm, she was looking out of her crate and taking it all in. I had to make sure to steer clear of other dogs in case they thought she was an easy snack.

How’s about some more videos?

14 Responses to “Carting with Emma – The Finished Product”

  1. Jan August 24, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    How very cute and clever. Are you sure Tigris isn’t on a downer? My cat would never sit still for that.

    • ettel August 25, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Tigress tried jumping out once when Emma hit a big bump, but she’s tied to the milk crate and didn’t get very far. Tigress was getting her fair share of treats too and was more than happy to sit still in the cart for food. I’ve put her in a shopping cart before and she enjoys taking trips around – it beats staying in a small apartment all day and she isn’t required to do any actual walking!

      • Belle Page August 25, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

        This is an AWESOME idea!! My Pitty Jade is just like her Mommy energy wise lol, we’re either on or off! We’ve been talking/joking about doing the same thing with a sled in the winter because she loves running around in the snow and would already pull my 6 yr-old niece around the yard playing tug of war! Not to mention all of us around the kitchen since Mom’s chairs have wheels! She LOVED dragging us around the floor! Shoot I learned my own lesson about thinking it was cute playing tug of war while I was hanging off the end of the bed! I did get lots of kisses for my booboo bump on the head when she pulled me off! The amount of strength she/they have is mind boggling and yet she is the most gentle dog I’ve ever met and even has her own cat who imprinted on her when she was a kitten! I’ve got great video’s of my supposedly mean scar dangerous breed letting a 6 week old kitten beat her up! I’ve had to literally disconnect the cat from Jade’s ears or lip because she was whimpering in obvious pain but wouldn’t do anything to stop it, she just let Lily grow up beating her up and now I’ve got a cat and dog who are 2 peas in a pod and best friends! Not to mention all the crap my friends little kids have put her through, but the younger the kid, the more gentle she was. So going to try this out!

  2. Tucker's Mom August 25, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    LOVE Emma’s cart! And of course her adorable passengers!

  3. Kami Kaze August 25, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    VERY KEWL IDEA!!! I just may hafta make me one of these!!!! AWESOME JOB! I have been having my girl pull a liu s10 truck tire (she has INTENSE energy!) and she LOVES IT. You will prob get some kinda NEGITIVE feedback..but what pppl dont know about…they look down upon! I think its GREAT that you dedicated your time and $’s on your animals and exercising them for their well being! Bless you! Keep us up dated!! THANKS FOR THE TIPS AND STEPS ON HOW TO MAKE ON!! WOO HOOO

    • ettel August 25, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks! So far I’ve only gotten really positive feedback from people in my area. A few guys even stopped us to take pictures! I’m trying to get my hands on a motorcycle tire for Emma to pull on drag walks, but the cart is fine for now, she’s not high energy at all, so the pulling is just to give her something to do and keep her fit. If you want to make your own cart and need help putting it together, feel free to e-mail me.

  4. Kami Kaze August 25, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    lol. I JUST WATCHED TEH VIDS..lmao.. the first video was sooooooo funnie!! hahaah.. SHES so FREAKIN BOUNCY!!! But of course since my dog is dog aggressive/ dog selective.. i HAVE to make myself say something about your poodle not havin a leash! ;p hahahaha sorry! had to do it! anyways.. GREAT VIDS SUPER DUPA CUTE! THANKS FOR SHARING

    • ettel August 25, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Neither of my dogs are dog aggressive. My Poodle is dog reactive on leash, but my Pittie has excellent doggy skills. I would never have had them around each other the way I do if either had issues with the other. We live in a small studio apartment in NYC (with a cat, too) and they’re around each other all the time (though crated when I’m not there) so having them off leash together is not a problem (funny that you mentioned the Poodle being off leash but not the Pit Bull!). Thanks for pointing it out for other people, I forget that not everyone knows Charlie and Emma’s background.

  5. Kristine August 25, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    This is so great! I can’t believe she picked it up so fast! Well, I guess I can, Emma is super smart and your dog and all, but still. What a great practical thing for her to learn. You are going to be the envy of everyone at the market. Not to mention the positive PR for pit bull type dogs. 🙂

    • ettel August 25, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      I could TOTALLY see Shiva doing this! Haha, I just got an image of Shiva carting your cat around! Actually, if you make it sturdy enough, Shiva could pull YOU around town! Let me know if you want to put it together!

  6. Kari August 25, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Nice work!

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  7. Shannon October 1, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I LOVE your cart, you are so clever to have figured how to build it yourself! I recently started a blog about “DIY” dog training, and I’d love to share your post (write a post about your post? LOL) if you don’t mind!

    • ettel October 1, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

      Sure! Feel free to post about it. If you need any more explanations of how I got it together or close up photos let me know.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Dog Cart | the DIY dog - October 9, 2011

    […] Check out more video, photos and a description of how she did it at: A Poodle and a Pit Bull […]

What do you think?

