Puppies!

15 May

Looks like it takes a pair of two week old puppies to get me back into the blogging world!

Kiss me!!

The little guy’s been worrying me a bit. I weighed them this morning.

Little guy’s barely 2.6 #s. He’s got some clear discharge coming from his nostrils and is a bit sniffly. I haven’t seen him nurse quite as often as his behemoth of a brother. I originally had esbilac to supplement his meals with, but then learned that goat’s milk is actually a better choice. I just hope he doesn’t grow up and start bleating. He seems OK to me right now. I’m hoping he can beat his sniffles with regular meals.

Mr. Behemoth weighed in at a huge 3.8#s! He’s so big he barely fit on my scale! He’s got the largest, roundest tummy out there and nurses like an addict. What’s funny is that he surfs nipples. He’ll suckle at one for a bit and then go down the line. He’s also a huge cry baby and whines when I pick him up.

Mom’s been an absolute doll. I gave her a break from the pups this morning and she just snuggled with me on the bed. She’s such a sweetheart! She’s taking to the raw food, albeit slowly. I still have to mix in a good amount of milk and freeze dried food to get her to eat the ground mix, but the important part is that she’s eating. It’s been raining all day which really sucks because she’s uncomfortable going outside as it is and ends up holding it longer than she should because she doesn’t want to be outside.

I even got time to work with Charlie today and he blew me away and conquered a five part behavior chain. Of course he was barking the entire time, but that’s nothing new. I might even give him a hair cut tonight.

5 Responses to “Puppies!”

  1. Kari May 15, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    those pups are so cute! love the chubby belly

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  2. jan May 15, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    What a wonderful thing you are doing for them. Complete and unbearable cuteness.

  3. Cupcake May 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I really love Lucy. I’m sure she is so happy to be some place safe with her babies. All three are so beautiful.

  4. Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus) May 15, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    We’ve been really behind on the bloggie thing (blame Mom – she’s been working on our yard for AGES and STILL doesn’t have the grass seed down yet…. or even purchased….), so…. Puppies?!? Teehee. We love ’em both; the fatty reminds me of Abby (she was the biggest pup in her litter)! I’m sure with all your TLC, the little guy will do fine, too! We can’t wait for updates!

    *kissey face*
    -Fiona and Abby the Hippobottomus

  5. houndstooth4 May 17, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    I hope the little puppy turns around soon! I don’t like sniffles in little puppies!

What do you think?

