Hello Fostering!!

14 May

I found out about a new local rescue organization yesterday. The first in my neighborhood.

Today I came home with my first fosters ever.

Lucy and her two two week old puppies.Poor girl was set to be gassed somewhere in the South and was saved last minute and shipped up to NYC.

She was so extremely emaciated that the rescue had no idea she was pregnant at first. With some real food she ballooned in a few days and then gave birth to eight puppies. Five were stillborn. One died this morning. And I’ve got the other two.

She was so stressed out at the rescue center when I went over today that I got my car and brought her home on the spot. They were having their open house and all the people and dogs were just too much for her. She’s an absolute sweetie and so gentle with her pups. She’s quite nervous of cars, and doesn’t seem to be housebroken, but makes up for it with sheer love. She’s all ribs and bones and obviously still getting over all the stress she’s been through recently, but she’s a gem of a dog.

I’m still not sure how long I’ll have her and her pups. Not sure what age the rescue thinks they’re suitable for adoption. So far they’re letting me feed her raw and I’m planning to wean the pups onto raw, so hopefully we can find homes that can agree to keep them all raw!

Unfortunately I have to bring her back to the rescue next weekend when I go to KPA workshop number two with Charlie. I’m trying to find an alternative to that – maybe pay my brother to house and animal sit. That way I’ll not have to send out Tigress and Emma either.

And of course this sets me back even further with my KPA work. I was planning on working all day today and instead spent the day rearranging the house set up to accommodate Lucy and getting us all into a rhythm.

I’ve been singing “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds” to her all day. I think she enjoys it.

8 Responses to “Hello Fostering!!”

  1. Two Grad Students and a Pittie May 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    yay this is SO exciting. what cute pups. thanks for fostering!

  2. houndstooth4 May 15, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    Lucy and the puppies are adorable! I hope they find homes soon!

  3. Diane McCornack May 15, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Lucy is a beauty and those babies just adorable. Thank you for stepping up to foster and help out this this girl and her young family!

  4. Anna May 15, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    awww, what a ruff start for this family. I’m sure she will bounce back in your care though. She looks like an interesting mix too.
    Good luck! I would house sit for you if I were closer.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  5. Kari May 15, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    those are some cute pups! Good on you for fostering 🙂

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  6. Cupcake May 15, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Thank you for taking Lucy and her pups. I know you will take wonderful care of them. What a beautiful Mom she is.

  7. Aleksandra May 19, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    you are really jumping in! you are an angel for taking a momma with puppies . . . they really need you, and i know it will pay off!

  8. Lindsay May 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I love that you are fostering! Good luck with that! You have your hands full! It will be so much fun, though! What kind of mix are you guessing the mom is?

What do you think?

