At a loss

6 May

My neighbor’s 6 month old Puggle was just killed by a hit and run driver.

I heard some commotion outside my window, saw a young woman bending over a limp dog in the street. I ran out and yelled at her to get in my car.

We raced to the vet but it was obvious that it was too late for the pup.

This was totally preventable. They let this dog and their other dog (who I haven’t seen in months – a black Pit Bull) roam collar and leashless. I’ve personally almost hit the Pit Bull with my car when coming home at night more than once.

I’m infuriated that this happened, but my heart is breaking to pieces and I’m crying with her for her dog. I’m so shaken, I’m so sad, angry, and hurt. I feel so bad for that girl.

5 Responses to “At a loss”

  1. Kari May 6, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    oh thats so sad. I hate when things like this are totally preventable. I know there are times when a dog accidentally slips out the door but this time it doesn’t seem to be that case.

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  2. Diane McCornack May 6, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Your conflicting thoughts are well justified. It doesn’t change the sad circumstances but the fact is that the ignorance of the other family cost them a loving pet. I’m sorry for the loss of the pup and the grief you are feeling now 😦

  3. houndstooth4 May 6, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    It would be sad no matter what, but the fact that it was preventable makes it harder to stomach. I still feel badly for someone who loses a beloved pet. Perhaps it will be a hard lesson learned.

  4. jan May 6, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I’m just as angry with people who let dogs run loose and I am with people who accidentally hit them. There is one country road that I used to drive down where the dogs run out and bark at the cars. I now drive eight miles out of my way to avoid that road. What I want to do is lecture the owners that just because they live in the country doesn’t mean the dogs can run loose.

    • ettel May 6, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      Although still dangerous and certainly irresponsible in the country, it’s an entirely different problem altogether in NYC. Just beyond comprehension.

What do you think?

