Crazy idea?

2 Apr

Charlie’s always been in somewhat of a lamb clip.

It should look something like this:

But after giving up on teasing out all the briars and whatnot from his fur, and then realizing that he’s been quite matted in his armpits, I think I might do a crazy thing and shear him off into a working clip, which looks something like this:

 

He’s had many different looks throughout his life, and has actually been in something resembling a working clip in the past, though I’ve never been bold enough to lop off his top knot and ears. Have a looksie at his different looks:

 

In all his beautiful lamb-clipness

Skinny dog with a big head.

I mean he does look kinda funny, which is what's stopping me. He just doesn't seem cut out to be naked!

Shorter ear hair. Still lookin' silly!

Does it need commenting? I think he had gotten into a bag of uncooked rice earlier and stuffed his gut.

And then the other end of the spectrum. Back when I kept up with his grooming throughout the wintertime.

So what’s the consensus? How short do we go? Keep the ears and head?

For a woman with a shaved head I seem unnaturally attached to my dog’s hair. I mean it will grow back!

9 Responses to “Crazy idea?”

  1. Fiona (and Abby the Hippobottomus) April 2, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Hmmm. We’ve tried all those things (we had a standard poodle, a toy, as well as a miniature before the goldendoodles). Our toy poodle would get matted, and we did the full working cut on him – he looked like a little lamb. He was quite cute! However, I’m partial to a short topknot and a medium ears. How bad are the briars? I actually like the look where he’s in his life jacket.

    -Dr. Liz (the girls are asleep)

  2. jan April 3, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    We vote to keep the top knot, tail pouf and long ears. Otherwise people will keep asking what kind of dog that is and when you say Poodle, they will be sad and give you very dirty looks.

  3. kariryerson April 3, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I think the working short cut looks cute on him!

    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

  4. Lindsay April 3, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I like the working clip. That’s just me. I have a short haired dog and I like that his coat doesn’t require much maintenance. I do think Charlie is cute when he has fluffy hair, though! I like that first photo of him in his lamblike cut.

  5. Anna April 3, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    I like the 4th clip the best as it’s not quite as short body wise so he can hide his skinniness (wish I had that problem) and the middle of the road length with the ears and top make him look cute.. puppy like.

    I always wanted to clip a poodle… but knew the novelty of grooming would wear off so I opted for a dog with very little coat care needed.. why put myself and my dog through it if i knew I would not enjoy it. But I have always enjoyed how grooming can become an art, and I like to sculpt.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • ettel April 3, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      I really dislike grooming him and he really dislikes it as well. But the alternative is even worse – forget the money. He gets into hysterics anytime I have to take him to a grooming place. That and the $60-90 they want for a Poodle cut led me to learning how to clip him myself. I’ve certainly messed up along the way, but it always grows back! And it’s really incredible how well he stand for me. He lets me do whatever I need to and is very calm and nice about it.

      He does look quite skinny in a short ‘do, doesn’t he?

  6. Jenny April 3, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    We love the working cut! A poodle who is a regular at day camp has it, and he looks so sleek and handsome. I say chop the fluff for now, and if you hate it you’ll know not to do it again. It’ll grow fast enough!

    Of Pitbulls and Patience
    http://parkerskye.blogspot.com/

  7. Artie April 3, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I keep Spirit in a working clip and his ears at about 1/2″, just to the point that the curl shows without matting.

    Jan, I do get the question and every time (especially from the men) “Wow! They are handsome dogs under that fru-fru cut”

    A product that is good to keep them from matting is Cowboy Magic (http://www.cowboymagic.com/products-detangler-shine.html) a little goes a long way. It keeps the mats from forming, with leaving a greasy feeling.

  8. judith2you July 16, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I admire your courage to groom Charlie. We have 2 Standard Poodles and the expense is tremendous. Plus I like the look of the Working Cut – although my family is resisting. I am threatening to move to the woods or the beach where the dogs would need a shorter cut for maintenance in a more active environment. Artie, I agree – people are surprised Poodles are handsome dogs under that fur-fru cut.

What do you think?

